Press Releases

New Chairwoman and Officers


JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA – December 6, 2013 – At its monthly meeting yesterday, the Jacksonville Transportation Authority Board of Directors elected Donna L. Harper as its new chair for the year 2014, succeeding Edward E. Burr. 

Harper is the chief executive officer of Systems Logics Company LLC. The Mandarin area resident was appointed on December 29, 2010 by Governor Charlie Crist and reappointed by Governor Rick Scott in June 2011. This is Harper's second stint on the JTA Board having previously served from 1999-2007, including two years as chair.

"It is an honor to serve as the new chair of JTA’s Board of Directors," Harper said.   “As the City of Jacksonville and its surrounding areas are flourishing it is imperative that this agency continues to stimulate Northeast Florida’s economy with ongoing transportation initiatives.”

Other officers elected were Scott McCaleb as vice chair, Isaiah Rumlin as secretary, and Greg Evans, P.E., as treasurer.  

A JTA chairperson is elected by the Board annually and can serve up to two consecutive terms.  Harper and the new officers will assume their roles on January 1, 2014.


The Jacksonville Transportation Authority is an independent state agency governed by a seven-member board of directors. JTA operates Jacksonville’s public bus service, downtown automated Skyway and paratransit service, as well as design and build roads and bridges. JTA’s mission is to improve Northeast Florida’s economy, environment and quality of life by providing safe, reliable, and efficient multimodal transportation services and facilities. For more information, visit