Press Releases

2009 National Transportation Week Contest Winners Announced

Two local student-artists were honored by Northeast Florida’s leading transportation agencies in celebration of National Transportation Week (NTW).  The students, both fifth-graders, had their winning entries from the 2009 NTW poster contest unveiled at a special ceremony Friday, May 15 at Craig Airport.

Representatives from the Jacksonville Aviation Authority (JAA), the Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA), and the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization (NFTPO) unveiled the winning posters as part of the NTW festivities.

Contest entries were sent by the Duval County School Board to students in the school district’s art program.  The two winners were chosen from those entries.  Shawnee Gaskins of the Arlington Heights Elementary School (art teacher Mr. Ramos) and Makalla Beeks of Don Brewer Elementary School (art teacher Ms. Gelwicks) were named the 2009 NTW contest winners.

Each student-artist submitted original artwork centered on the theme, “Florida on the Move.”  The entries were judged by representatives from all the participating agencies.

Poster cards of their winning entries will be on display throughout the summer at the Jacksonville International Airport, on the inside of JTA buses, as well as the JAXPORT and North Florida TPO administrative offices.

May 10-16 is officially National Transportation Week. President John F. Kennedy established NTW in 1962 so that Americans could learn about the importance of transportation and to interest youth in pursuing transportation related careers.