Member Agencies

The collaborative Regional Transit Working Group (RTWG) is jointly hosted by the Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA) and the Northeast Florida Regional Council. The group is led by Mike Hays of Nassau Transit with support from Geanelly Reveron from the JTA and Margo Moehring from the Regional Council.

Member agencies and staff

Baker County Council on Aging (Baker Transit) provides public transportation on the Wildcat Shuttle between Macclenny, Baldwin and Jacksonville and the Bobcat shuttle operating between Macclenny and Lake City. Baker Transit also provides safe and dependable on-demand transportation for the elderly, disabled and transportation disadvantaged residents of Baker County. Tiffany Shrull, Contract Manager and Judd Chambers, Transportation Director are active RTWG members.

Clay Community Transportation (CCT) is operated by the JTA to provide flex route and paratransit services in Clay County and Regional Express (Route 201) service from the Black Creek Park-n-Ride into Downtown Jacksonville.

Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA) is an independent state agency serving Duval County by designing and constructing bridges and highways and providing varied mass transit services. These services include express and regular bus service, a downtown Skyway monorail, the St. Johns River Ferry, the Gameday Xpress for various sporting events and Paratransit services for the disabled and elderly. Suraya Teeple, Director of Planning and System Development for the JTA, also serves as the RTWG Vice-Chair. JTA Transportation Planners Geanelly Reveron and Jeremy Norsworthy provide technical support to the RTWG.

Nassau County Council on Aging (NassauTRANSIT) provides both scheduled public bus and registered paratransit services. The public bus service connects east and west Nassau with downtown Jacksonville, including Nassau Express Select in partnership with JTA. The Island Hopper provides local public transit service around the northern half of Fernandina Beach. Mike Hays, Transportation Director has served as the RTWG Chair since January 2018.

Ride Solution provides local flex route public transportation services within Putnam County and inter-city (Greyhound) and paratransit services from Putnam County to Gainesville, Saint Augustine, Green Cove Springs, Orange Park and Jacksonville. Boyd Thompson, Transportation Director is an active RTWG member.

St. Johns County Council on Aging (Sunshine Bus Company) provides flex route public transportation and paratransit services throughout St Johns County, connecting with Ride Solution in East Palatka and JTA at the St Johns County Government Center. Matt McCord, Transportation Director and George Hesson, Sunshine Bus Manager both participate in RTWG activities.

Florida Department of Transportation Transit Office/District 2, in partnership with public transportation providers, strives to provide reliable, safe, and cost-effective access to those who live, work learn and play in Florida. They administer transit grant programs and provide technical support for transit operations, safety, and planning. This includes the Florida Transportation Plan (FTP), the state’s long-range plan guiding Florida’s transportation future. FDOT Transit Coordinators, Janell Damato, Theodis Perry and Christina Nalsen as well as the District Freight, Logistics and Passenger Operations Manager, Doreen Joyner-Howard are active RTWG participants.

Northeast Florida Regional Council is one of ten regional planning councils in the State of Florida. The agency is also designated by the Florida Commission for the Transportation Disadvantaged (CTD) as the designated transportation planning official for Baker, Clay, Nassau, Putnam and St. Johns County. Margo Moehring, Director of Policy and Planning provides support to and is an active RTWG member.

North Florida Transportation Planning Organization is the independent regional transportation planning agency for Duval, Clay, Nassau and St. Johns counties. They are also the CTD-designated transportation planning official for Duval County. Elizabeth De Jesus, Transportation Programs Manager, is an active RTWG participant.

Baker County is a rural county just west of Jacksonville. The county seat is the City of Macclenny. The Town of Glen St. Mary is also located in Baker County.

Clay County is largely within the Jacksonville urbanized area, located just southwest of Jacksonville. The county seat is Green Cove Springs. Additional municipalities include Keystone Heights, Orange Park and Penney Farms. Ed Lehman, Planning and Zoning Director; Carolyn Morgan, Planning Chief and Chereese Stewart have participated in RTWG activities.

Nassau County is located just north of Jacksonville. The county seat is the City of Fernandina Beach and additional municipalities include Callahan and Hilliard. Kaily Saver has participated in RTWG activities.

Putnam County is a rural county south of Clay County and west of St. Johns County. The county seat is the City of Palatka and additional municipalities include Crescent City, Interlachen, Pomona Park and Welaka.

St. Johns County includes portions within the Jacksonville urbanized area and has its own small urban area in and around the City of St. Augustine. It is located southeast of Jacksonville. The county seat is St. Augustine. Additional municipalities and unincorporated communities include St. Augustine Beach, Ponte Vedra Beach, Hastings, Nocatee, Vilano Beach, World Golf Village and Julington Creek Plantation. Rachel Garvey, Transit Planner, is an active RTWG participant.

Additional partners