Press Releases

Ford named TRB Executive Committee vice chair for 2021

JACKSONVILLE, FL — The Transportation Research Board (TRB) has appointed Jacksonville Transportation Authority Chief Executive Officer Nathaniel P. Ford Sr. as vice chair of the TRB Executive Committee, starting in 2021.

The TRB Executive Committee will be chaired in 2021 by Susan Shaheen, a professor in civil and environmental engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and co-director of UC Berkeley’s Transportation Sustainability Research Center.

Both were appointed by Marcia McNutt, president of the National Academy of Sciences and chair of the National Research Council for terms that begin in January 2021.

The TRB Executive Committee is composed of approximately 25 members appointed by the chair of the National Research Council. These members are selected to provide balanced representation of transportation modes, academic disciplines, private and public sectors, levels of government, geographical regions, and other relevant factors. The committee provides strategic direction and oversight for all of TRB’s programs and activities.

Ford has been the CEO at the JTA since 2012. In September, he was named the American Public Transportation Association’s (APTA) Outstanding Public Transportation Manager for 2020. Since joining the JTA, Ford has received numerous awards for his transformational programs and initiatives, including the White House Champion of Change. He was named “Ultimate CEO” by the Jacksonville Business Journal, inducted into the First Coast Business Hall of Fame and was honored with the 2019 “Thought Leader” Award by The Eno Center for Transportation. Under Ford’s leadership, the JTA was recognized as the winner of the 2016 APTA Outstanding Public Transportation System Achievement Award.

“Since joining the Executive Committee, Nat has chaired the task force that developed TRB’s strategic plan for inclusion and diversity, and has served as chair of the International Subcommittee of the Executive Committee. He is highly regarded by his Executive Committee peers and is a thought leader on many issues, including innovation and equity issues in transportation,” said TRB Executive Director Neil Pedersen.

A full listing of all new and re-appointed members of the TRB Executive Committee will be released in January 2021.

The mission of TRB is to provide leadership in transportation innovation and progress through research and information exchange, conducted within a setting that is objective, interdisciplinary, and multimodal. Its annual meeting provides an opportunity for transportation professionals from all over the world to exchange information of common interest. Typically, more than 14,000 policymakers, administrators, practitioners, researchers, and representatives of government, industry, and academic institutions attend the Transportation Research Board Annual Meeting. The 100th annual meeting will be held virtually between Jan. 5 and Jan. 29, 2021. The meeting program will cover all transportation modes, and the spotlight theme is Launching a New Century of Mobility and Quality of Life.

TRB is a program unit of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine — private, nonprofit institutions that provide independent, objective analysis and advice to the nation to solve complex problems and inform public policy decisions related to science, technology, and medicine. The Academies operate under an 1863 congressional charter to the National Academy of Sciences, signed by President Lincoln.

For more information, visit